Wednesday, 2 April 2014

Taking a Hiatus

As you can tell from the title, this post is a short notice to tell you all that I am taking a hiatus from blogging. Life is... um, crazy.. right now (to put it simply). I have quite a few posts pre-written and a schedule already written but I think I need to take a break. It's quite stressful when I can't publish a certain post on that day, and it takes a lot of effort to write reviews nowadays.

So.

There are two reasons why I'll be abandoning this blog for a few weeks. I'm unsure how many of you know this, but I'm quite ill at the moment. It's not a cold or the flu, I have been unwell for about 10 months and it causes me to be exhausted all the time, nauseous, and I get headaches as well as eye issues. I have had to give up subjects at school and cut down the hours. Since I've been ill for the past few months, I've hardly done any exams so now they're all coming at once so I can get my qualifications. I have assessment after assessment which is very hard since I find it difficult to concentrate, so I've decided to release the pressure of blogging for a bit.

*hopes that paragraph makes sense* To sum up my feelings, I will use Buffy the Vampire Slayer GIFs:

On a good day...


On a bad day... 

So I'm taking a hiatus..
 

And I may be like this...

And want to do this to this post...
 
But this is for the best... 
 

Thanks for sticking by me!

I'm obsessed with this show. Meep.

This is a really long post so I'm just going to go now... BYEEEE. See you on the other side, whenever that may be.


Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Broken (Avena #2) by Marianne Curley

Synopsis:

Ebony is not quite human. She’s descended from Avena, an otherworldly realm caught between warring light and dark forces. But she doesn’t feel like she’s in danger . . . until her boyfriend Nathaneal almost dies protecting her. Now Nathaneal is in jail for revealing his powers to the enemy, and Ebony’s only ally is jealous Jordan, who’d love to break her and Nathaneal up.

But when Jordan announces he has a connection to Ebony’s missing birth father, she can’t help but be intrigued. The two make a plan to find him, but it quickly goes awry, and Ebony finds herself in the treacherous heart of Avena. She has no choice but to navigate this perilous world—or die trying.

Fantastical and emotionally powerful, this epic inter-world romance series will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Cynthia Hand.
From Goodreads.


Review:

Last year, I read and reviewed the first book in this trilogy - Hidden. I enjoyed it so much and cliffhanger nearly killed me so knowing that I had to wait a year was hard. I jumped at the chance to receive a review copy. Despite the gorgeous cover and promising synopsis, I was disappointed.

I won't dive into the plot too much due to spoilers, but this series is centred around Ebony, a violet-eyed girl who discovers she was taken from Avena, a realm of angels. This book is told from three perspectives: Ebony, Jordan and Nathaneal. I'm not sure if my reading taste has changed or this is purely the book not being as good, but this isn't the awesome sequel I was expecting it to be. For the first half of this book I was like this:


Everything and everyone was so melodramatic! Ebony kept crying and the dialogue seemed so unrealistic and just annoying. Jordan and Nathanel kept portrayed Ebony as a "goddess" and there were paragraphs and paragraphs on her golden locks or whatever. It got annoying. Fortunately, I got used to the writing style and the book started to pick up. This book is very fast paced which did help, and some plot points were very emotional and gripping.

Another problem I found: the pet names. This may seem petty but the nicknames the characters called each other were ridiculous. I could deal with "princess" and "love" but I just laughed when Nathaniel started to call Ebony "my beloved" and Ebony called Jordan: "Jordy"... it was so unrealistic for teenagers to say! My eye rolling muscles were used a lot.

If you enjoyed Hidden, like me, I am not overly recommending this book but you may enjoy it. There are plenty of positive reviews so I would suggest looking out for it in the library.

RATE: 1.5/5

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens | Pages: 352 | Publication Date: 15th March 2014 | Edition: Paperback | Source: For Review | To buy click HERE.


Thursday, 20 March 2014

Book Quirks #8: Why You Should Blog

Book Quirks is a new feature on Bookhi which will be published every Thursday. Each post will be a different topic of my general bookish thoughs, fangirling and quirks that every bookworm owns. 

This week's topic:

WHY YOU SHOULD BLOG

The majority of you reading this are book bloggers, but I get a few comments and emails from people who read my posts but aren't involved within the book blogging community. Blogging has changed my life so I definitely, DEFINITELY recommend it!
  1. MAKE FRIENDS: I talk to about 10 friends via the Internet exclusively, and I'm friends with about 30 other book bloggers. The community is awesome and they are so much fun to fangirl and talk to about books. Love you guys *hugs*
  2. LEARN ABOUT NEW BOOKS: Book blogs are the perfect source to find out about upcoming releases or lesser known books.
  3. FREE BOOKS: It might be quite hard to get your hands on review copies until you've been blogging for a few months and/or you have gained followers. However, free books in exchange for reviews is AWESOME. :)
  4. EVENT OPPORTUNITIES: Publishers hold lots of book launches and other events and often invite book bloggers. A free pass to an event is an amazing. I have had the chance to see the Vlog Brothers live, see my post here.
  5. DEVELOP WRITING AND DESIGN SKILLS: Writing posts frequently and designingng your header/buttons can be hard work but you can develop your skills at both of these quite well. My blog design at the start was... awful *shudders* not to mention my terrible reviews. I have improved so much.. I hope D:
  6. IT IS FUN: Blogging is a massive hobby of mine and I hope to continue doing this for as long as possible. I am so grateful for all the lovely people I know now and I just love to write posts and read other blogs. YAY BLOGGING. 


I really hope I have persuaded you to start a blog. If you're thinking about it but don't know where to start, here are a few quick tips that I've learnt:

- Get a Twitter account and make blogging friends.
- Create a blog design to make it more original.
- Comment on other blogs to get the word out about your own.
- Publish a variety of posts, e.g. reviews, interviews, discussions etc.

For more blogging advice, read Amber's Blogging 101 series of posts.

However, book blogging sometimes simple isn't someone's niche. If you've tried and just can't get into it, I'd recommend starting up a vlogging channel on You Tube. There are plenty of booktubers and it's a wonderful community. For more information, read my post about booktubers.

Where do you stand on book blogging?



Monday, 17 March 2014

Top 5 Male Protagonists

The majority of the books I read have a female main character and are most often told through their point of view. However, I've also read some great books with a male main character that I have really enjoyed. I haven't counted love interests, otherwise this list would be far too long. ;)  So yeah, most of these are main characters with a first person writing style. In no particular order, these are my top five:

  1. Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: The usual YA protagonist is strong and self-aware and usually a weak character physically and mentally ruins the story. However, Charlie is a very unique character and it isn't surprising that so many people love him to pieces. His innocent personality is so interesting to read and his perspective on the world is very relatable. 
  2. Q from Paper Towns by John Green: Paper Towns is one my my favourite contemporaries because it is so freakin' hilarious and original. I love Q's determination and how he is so motivated to find Margot. John Green portrays realistic teen characters perfectly.
  3. Harry Potter from The Best Books Ever by the The Best Author Ever: Do I even need to say my reasoning for this one? Alongside Ron Weasley, Harry is a fantastic character. He is strong and accepting without going on too much about his problems and broken childhood. Harry is also a good friend and the trio always make me smile. :)
  4. August from Wonder by R.J Palacio: AUGGIE! If you haven't read Wonder, pick the book immediately. I just want to give August a mahoosive hug and have him as my little brother. He has a difficult life so tries to push people away, which makes the character development in this book is very well-written. August is the epitome of heart warming and heart breaking moments. *hugs book*
  5. Percy Jackson from the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan: I have only read the first three Percy Jackson books so I need to hop onto reading the rest of the series ASAP. Percy is HILARIOUS. Even in a life-threatening situation, he'll make a sarcastic comment that will make me laugh out loud.
 Who are your favourite male protagonists?

Thursday, 13 March 2014

Book Quirks #7: Series vs Standalones

Book Quirks is a new feature on Bookhi which will be published every Thursday. Each post will be a different topic of my general bookish thoughts, fangirling and quirks that every bookworm owns. 

This week's topic...

SERIES VS STANDALONES 

Series and trilogies seem to be the rulers of the YA world, but sometimes they're not always loved by everybody. I know of a few bloggers that are getting fed up of trilogy upon trilogy, or some that avoid popular books altogether. As much as I love my series, I also adore standalones and I thought I would share with you all my top favourites.

SERIES:


Series pictured:
Harry Potter, The Lunar Chronicles, Noughts of Crosses, The 5th Wave, The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, Virals, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, The Hunger Games, When I Was Joe, Geek Girl, Mara Dyer, Divergent.

Positive: More time with beloved characters.
Negative: Sometimes sequels can mess up the storyline and drag on.

STANDALONES:


Standalones pictured:
The Fault in Our Stars, The Book Thief, Between Shades of Gray, Fangirl, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Room, Kiss Date Love Hate, Revived, Wonder.



Positive: Less commitment and an overall good story in one novel.
Negative: Only one book with favourite characters. More, more, more!

I sit on the fence when it comes to this debate. Although most of my favourite books are standalones, I have a soft spot for my childhood series and all the epic dystopian trilogies.

Do you prefer series or standalones?